You know the feeling: You’ve found the coolest thing while out shopping, your team just took the lead, or you’re at an awesome party and you’ve taken a picture or recorded a video, which you now want to share with your friends as quickly as possible to see their responses. That’s exactly why we’ve developed HeyEcho.
** Yet another messaging app? **
No! We've thought about how we’d like to communicate: We want to quickly and easily share moments of our lives with our friends and acquaintances, i.e. people we know and trust – NOT with the whole world. Such moments can consist of images and text – and going forward of short videos and audio tracks too.
** Even the best shared picture is worth nothing without feedback! **
We don’t want to respond to every image with a trite “really nice” or “yeah”, so we decided to go with a super-fast option: we simply reply with a descriptive icon, the so-called echo (see thumbnails). This lets us express our emotions with just one click!
** How does it all work? **
When you install HeyEcho, the app will automatically search in your list of contacts to detect which of them also have HeyEcho installed, and then simply connect the both of you. This requires you both to have one another’s phone numbers stored in your phone books. If only one of you has the other’s number in their phone book, HeyEcho will not connect you. Established connections can be disabled via the app at any time. When you disable a connection, all shared contents are automatically removed from all devices. In other words, you’re always in complete control over your content!
** Privacy **
Your privacy is important to us! We process your data in accordance with the German Federal Data Protection Act.
== Shared content ==
As HeyEcho is all about moments, the shared contents are transient and not intended to be available permanently. For this reason, all shared contents are NOT saved permanently, but automatically deleted after 48 hours, both from our system and from all devices that have received the content.
== Mobile numbers from your phone book ==
We don’t transfer any phone numbers from your phone book to us. To connect to your contacts, we use a so-called hash. A hash is an encrypted version of a telephone number, from which the original phone number cannot be restored.
** Who’s behind HeyEcho? **
We are a small team of four people who enjoy implementing cool projects together. We’re NOT backed by any multinational corporation whose only interest lies in maximizing profits. We want to see straightforward communication be enjoyed by ourselves and everyone, and – with HeyEcho – we’ve created an app that provides just that.
** TL;DR: Here’s another summary for those too lazy to read :) **
- Quick and simple sharing with friends and people we really know: only people whose phone numbers are in your phone book are considered
- You decide who you want to share things with: in the app, you can deselect people with whom you do not want to share your content
- Quick, simple and meaningful feedback (echos): feedback with just one click
- No public content
- It’s all about moments: moments are transient, no permanent storage, content will be deleted after 48 hours (permanently deleted, from all devices)
Hans & the HeyEcho team
P.S.: If you like HeyEcho, please give us a good rating. Thank you!