Diving Islands of Sicily icon

Diving Islands of Sicily APK

The description of Diving Islands of Sicily

Here you can find some of the main and most interesting dive sites found among the islands and archipelagos included within the “Islands of Sicily” Coastal Action Group.

Each route is presented with a brief description of the underwater itinerary’s particular features, a map illustrating the natural/ archaeological highlights, an iconographic indication of the itinerary’s main characteristics (route type, difficulty level, etc.), and a table containing the basic diving data.

From the standpoint of ecology and landscape, these places differ widely from one another, even if they have numerous elements in common, above all in terms of opportunities.
The Aegadian Islands are an archipelago that consists of three main islands (Favignana, Marettimo and Levanzo), and two islets (Formica and Maraone). It is located along the western tip of Sicily, in the province of Trapani. Favignana is the largest and flattest of the islands. It features a wide variety in terms of both its coastal stretches, with alternating sand and rocks, as well as its sea beds, with picturesque underwater environments that are ideal for different types of diving experiences. The ridges even include formations made by man for extracting calcarenite. Marettimo is the most distant of the Aegadian Islands, and typically attracts tourists who love the sea and mountain walks. It’s famous for its brightly coloured sea caves. Levanzo, finally, offers a combination of natural beauty with an array of historical artefacts dotting its coastline and sea beds, as it once served as a transit point for sea trade, and was even the site of various ancient battles.
Ustica is an island in the Tyrrhenian Sea that is located just a few miles off the coast of Palermo, and is characterised by sharp rocky tracts, which form outcroppings alternating with small sandy bays. It is an island of volcanic origin that is extremely popular among diving enthusiasts.

The Aegadian Islands and Ustica are respectively located within the largest Marine Protected area in Europe, and the oldest Marine Protected area in Italy.
The Aeolian Islands, in the province of Messina, are an archipelago of seven islands and islets of various sizes, the smallest of which boast ancient and pristine natural environments. Their distinctive volcanic features provide for extraordinary landscapes and unique sea beds, which quickly descend from the coast down to considerable depths.
Pantelleria, finally, is the largest island that falls within the Coastal Action Group’s territory. It epitomises many of the characteristics of Sicily’s other islands. Being of volcanic origin, it features harsh environments and sea beds that quickly descend into the deep. These lands, which boast a unique combination of history, gastronomy and nature, are also ideal for diving enthusiasts thanks to their archaeological treasures and biological features.

Show More
Comment Loading...
Be the first to comment.
Developer Console
Popular Apps In Last 24 Hours
APKPure App